Major Ports in India

Major Ports in India:

Major ports in India have been classified into three categories by the Waterways Authority of India: major, minor and intermediate ports. Being one of the biggest peninsulas in the world India coastline covers the area of 7516.6 km. It has 13 major ports, 200 notified minor and intermediate ports, and all are situated in the nine coastal Indian State: Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Orissa, Tamil Nadu and Bengal.
Out of 13 major ports of India, 12 are Government run ports and one, Ennore port of Chennai, is a corporate one, and is located at Coromandel Coast Tamil Nadu along with private Krishapatnam Port.

Share on Google Plus

About Ajit Choudhary

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.